New Year, New Job: Reporting for the Napa Valley Register!

Register story 1One of the great things about life is never knowing what’s going to happen next. Take my new job, for instance.

As I spent more and more time becoming immersed in the Napa Valley, I kept meeting people and learning great stories–about the land, the history, the wines, and the people themselves. This blog allowed me to tell some of those stories. As my readership grew, my friends encouraged me to write articles for mainstream publications, like travel magazines, wine publications, or other high-end lifestyle media. While that is certainly a goal, I realized it is important to get published first, so I reached out to the Napa Valley Register, my local newspaper, which is the only newspaper in the country with a weekly wine section. (Others have food and wine sections, certainly, but not one solely focused on wine.) The editor of the wine section was thrilled  (thrilled, I say!) to meet me, and very open to my initial list of story ideas. So I set about working on my ideas, and she soon started to send me stories to work on.

Long story short, my first feature story ran in today’s Register, and you can view it here. More stories are forthcoming, although I have no control of how often they may appear. The good news is that there are plenty of stories to be told, as there is no shortage of material. I hope this will be a springboard to bigger and more profitable assignments. (And in fact, I am already being invited to attend events as a member of the media, so keep your eyes peeled for my byline!)

Thanks to all of you for your encouragement and support, which pushed me to take this new and exciting step. Cheers!

This entry was posted in Napa, People, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Year, New Job: Reporting for the Napa Valley Register!

  1. Dave Schultz says:

    So happy to read this blog post! I very much enjoyed the article and look forward to all the other stories to come. Very excited for you and glad I’m in good with the wine press ;)

  2. Zamudio, Mark (SJC) says:

    Sweet news – Congrats amigo! Mark

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. jt says:

    Nice… Congrats man!

  4. Peter Winslow says:

    Is that a Caltrans highway, by chance?

  5. Dave Yewell says:

    Congrats, good story

  6. M3 says:

    Kort that is awesome!!

Leave a Reply

